School of Rock – Day 15 – Celebration and Reflection

SUMMARY

  • I learned lots like: how to use HookPad, how to use Soundtrap, and how to play different riffs. I also learned how to use microphones. That was about it on what I’ve learned.

LEADERSHIP ACTIVITY

  • The leadership project was kinda 50/50 to me. At first I thought it was going be hard. All though it was hard. It was still fun.

How interested were you in learning the leadership project?

  • 1 (NOT MY THING!)
  • 2 (not really)
  • 3 (sorta interested)
  • 4 (interested)
  • 5 (YES! – I LOVE THIS STUFF!)

Your score: 3

CLASSROOM (THEORY & ANALYSIS)

  • I didn’t know music was so complicated. I learned music has been around a long time. I also learned that music doesn’t have to sound like music. It can just be an an arrangement of noises.

How interested were you in learning about music theory and song analysis?

  • 1 (NOT MY THING!)
  • 2 (not really)
  • 3 (sorta interested)
  • 4 (interested)
  • 5 (YES! – I LOVE THIS STUFF!)

Your score: 2

LAB (THEORY PRACTICED)

  • HookPad is great but it can’t do as much as Soundtrap. For instance, Hook Pad can’t do sound effects, but soundtrap has loops and effects. but hook pad does have different notes that is played rather than you recording you playing on Soundtrap.

How interested were you in learning about HookLab and HookTab?

  • 1 (NOT MY THING!)
  • 2 (not really)
  • 3 (sorta interested)
  • 4 (interested)
  • 5 (YES! – I LOVE THIS STUFF!)

Your score: 4

PRACTICE ROOM (GUITAR LESSONS)

Ever since i heard dream on y aerosmith i have wanted to play electric guitar. I have been playing electric guItar for 4 and a 1/2 weeks. I HAVE BEEN GETTING CLOSER AND CLOSER EVERY DAY!!!

How interested were you in learning to play the guitar?

  • 1 (NOT MY THING!)
  • 2 (not really)
  • 3 (sorta interested)
  • 4 (interested)
  • 5 (YES! – I LOVE THIS STUFF!)

Your score: 4

OUTSIDE (CREATIVITY & THE BRAIN)

  • I like science/talking about the brain. But it’s not as fun as playing the electric guitar. And I like to stay on task as much as possible. Even though brain and music have a lot in common.

How interested were you in learning about topics related to the brain, creativity, and productivity?

  • 1 (NOT MY THING!)
  • 2 (not really)
  • 3 (sorta interested)
  • 4 (interested)
  • 5 (YES! – I LOVE THIS STUFF!)

Your score: 3

STUDIO (SONGWRITING)

I wrote 2 songs. One of them was called Lookin Back At Em’. The other one was called Too Complicated.

How interested were you in learning about songwriting, song structure, and music production?

  • 1 (NOT MY THING!)
  • 2 (not really)
  • 3 (sorta interested)
  • 4 (interested)
  • 5 (YES! – I LOVE THIS STUFF!)

Your score: 4.5

CONTROL ROOM (RECORDING & MIXING)

  • I recorded songs and podcasts on a series of different mics. I used them to record a podcast, and record vocals for a song.

How interested were you in learning about recording, engineering (sound effects, EQ), and mixing?

  • 1 (NOT MY THING!)
  • 2 (not really)
  • 3 (sorta interested)
  • 4 (interested)
  • 5 (YES! – I LOVE THIS STUFF!)

Your score: 3.5

WHAT I LEARNED and PROBLEMS I SOLVED

THE COURSE’s ACTIVITY EVALUATION (OVERALL)

Content (The WHAT)

Rating: OK  – 1 – 2 – 3 – 4 – 5  – HIGHLY ENGAGED

Rating: 4

What interested you most about the material in this class?

What was the most surprising, satisfying thing you learned that you didn’t know before?

The most interesting thing I learned is that music doesn’t have to have instruments in it. It can have random objects. As long as they make sounds you can use them. As long as they are in a rhythmic pattern it can be classified as music.

Process (The HOW)

Rating: OK  – 1 – 2 – 3 – 4 – 5  – HIGHLY ENGAGED

Rating: 2

What did you like most about the class structure, ya’know the day-to-day work? Why?

i like the self teaching because you go at your own pace.

What didn’t you like most about the class structure?

Writing blogs about what we did. When you are done working you have to write down what you did. When you are done working you end up copying and pasting

If you took the class again, what would you change?

Not having to write in a blog of what we did everyday. If you are done you should be done. Not have to do more work. I understand proof of your work is important but its also annoying.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *